The Water Campus is structured in two R&D clusters that agglutinate their areas of expertise in a coherent way

Cluster 1
Unites the specialisation areas on food, environment and ICT.
Cluster 2
Unites the specialisation areas on water management, social and educational innovation, ICTs, tourism and cultural heritage.

Including ICTs across the board enables the research groups involved to take part in both clusters. While carrying out specific research, the ICT research groups may also carry out research to support the remaining specialised areas.

The R&D clusters operating in specialised fields of the Waster Campus are organised based on thematic similarities among the different specialisation areas.